Where is my History?

A quote from Toni Morrison sums up my main reason for undertaking this project:

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”– Toni Morrison

Having spent most of my formative years outside Malaŵi, my country of birth, I perhaps felt the need of knowing more about where I’m from a lot greater. As a person who has been fascinated by history for as long as she can remember, learning one’s history seemed to be the logical starting point for learning one’s culture. However, therein the problem lies.

It’s not always easy to learn about Malaŵi. A precursory look at the books at the Vancouver Public Library shows very few books on Malaŵi, and even fewer on the arts and culture. If I’m lucky, I may be able to read a page or two in a general African arts and culture text. This realization was often accompanied by feelings of frustration;  surely Malaŵi’s arts and culture warrant more than a couple of paragraphs? A quick search in online databases supports my assumption.This tells me that this project is essential, and long overdue.

So I’ve decided to bite the bullet and undertake this endeavour. My book will attempt to introduce the historical progression of Malawi’s arts and culture to its readers. And really, it’s fascinating stuff!

Over the coming months I will be blogging about things related to my research and writing process. I hope you will join me on my journey.

Leave a Reply

